Roll Call Alum

Robert Wong—Architect for the Poor

September 2016

Robert Wong is an architect who grew up from humble beginnings: his family of six crammed in a two-bedroom unit less than 300 sq. ft. The first son of a handyman needed to help at his father’s hardware store wedged under a flight of stairs after school, or scout for unwanted electric wires to pare their plastic skins and sell the interior copper for pocket money. ‘The idea of being spotted and jeered at by my schoolmates haunted me. The industrial part of Kwun Tong is only one staircase away from my primary school.’

Later, he got admitted to an elite secondary school in the affluent district of Kowloon Tong. During his third year at junior high, he took part for the first time in a social service activity and visited slum dwellers in the shantytown of Diamond Hill. For the rest of his high school summer breaks, Robert kept returning there to play with the underprivileged children. ‘The way they gawked at the novelties I brought them or told them reminded me of the poverty-stricken years I had gone through.’

The time came when Robert had to choose a major when applying to college. The good Samaritan had set his sights on social work, but his class teacher knew him well for his resourcefulness and suggested him to go for architecture. ‘So I went for it, without the slightest idea that the discipline requires learning to draw and design.’

After the high achiever got into CUHK’s School of Architecture, he only managed to land a disappointing D for his first-year graphic studies, which deflated him. It was Prof. Freeman Chan, also the designer of the Pavilion of Harmony at New Asia College, who pointed out a way for him. Profession Chan was an advocate of community building. He showed Robert that being a social worker was not the only way to help the needy; instead, an architect has what it takes to substantially change people’s living conditions. ‘I was thrilled to realize that social service can be interwoven into architecture!’

Fifteen years on, Robert is now project development director of the Sheng Kung Hui Welfare Council, dedicating himself to designing elderly homes, youth centres, rehab centres and assorted service facilities for the deprived.

The other hat he wears is founder of IDEA, a charity organization which has put up 15 kindergartens in Cambodia, Nepal and India in the past seven years.

When it comes to building schools in Third World countries, natural lighting and ventilation are two overriding concerns, because the areas are either not connected to electricity supplies or the use of power is expensive. ‘To admit ample daylight, we create more window openings in the east-facing wall than in the west to let in the morning sun, and to avoid excessive glare and heat through the west in the afternoon. Also, the east-facing openings should be at a higher level than the west to allow good fresh-air circulation,’ explained the architect.

Once these two conditions are met, Robert opens up the designing and decorating processes to all the rest, that includes his volunteers from all walks of life and the building users—pre-schoolers and their teachers. As a result, each of the IDEA kindergartens scattering in Cambodia takes on a unique look. ‘A different combination of volunteers, kids and teachers always conjures a distinctive design. Even for the same purpose of a music classroom, everyone has his/her own top choice.’

Early childhood education is not a luxury but a lifeline for poor countries. Children who are better prepared to learn are more likely to acquire knowledge, know-how and abilities that will pave the way for them to advance in their studies and build a future for themselves and even for their hometowns.

‘We didn't formally survey what the little users think of their new schools, but judging from the steady increase of attendance year by year, we believe a school designed from the viewpoint of its users creates a sense of belonging for them. Meanwhile, a bright and airy classroom is crucial to igniting a passion for learning.’

Last year, Robert was honoured as one of the Hong Kong Ten Outstanding Young Persons. He said he wanted to thank his late father most of all. ‘I had been helping him in factories since I was little and witnessed how manual workers toiled. This impression has made me a caring architect. Architects can never build anything single-handed. Without the labourers’ effort in realizing the architectural dreams, they are nothing but sketches on paper.’

‘Mighty skyscrapers are a form of architecture, so are the numerous flats, huts and cottages that average people call home. In a world without architects, the poor’s dwellings would still exist, however dreadful the conditions might be. An architect’s role is to make the best of the few resources to create a most basic yet comfortable shelter for everyone. I think that’s the true power of architecture.’

By Christine N., ISO

榜上友名

王建明──窮人的建築師

2016年9月

王建明是位基層出身的建築師,兒時曾一家六口住在二百來呎的單位,爸爸是水電工人,王建明經常小學放學後要看守那賣電芯和光管的樓梯鋪,或是到工廠撿拾電線,削走膠皮,變賣內裏銅線,幫補家計。「那時其實頗不開心,生怕被同學發現、取笑。觀塘工廠區和我的小學僅僅相隔一條長樓梯。」

後來他從觀塘基法小學升上九龍塘英華書院,中三那年第一次參與社會服務,探訪鑽石山木屋區居民,自此猶如「幫上癮」,每年暑假密集式探訪貧苦小孩。「望着他們看見新奇事物的樣子,我仿佛看到當年在貧窮中掙扎的自己。」

到了中六選擇大學主修科目時,熱愛做義工的他原本首選社工系,但班主任認為他滿腦鬼主意,更適合讀建築,於是王建明聽從其意見,「在連唸建築是要學繪圖和設計都不知道的情況下就報讀了。」

成績一向優異的他,在中大建築系首年的繪圖科目只取得D級評分,甚感挫敗,直至他遇上令他開竅的恩師陳惠基教授,即新亞書院「合一亭」設計者。陳教授推崇社區建築,並讓王建明醒悟到,助人不一定要當社工;透過建築去改善弱勢社群的生活,影響更大。「我如夢初醒,驚覺原來社會服務與建築是可以結合的。建築師不只服務掌握資源的人,更要服務貧窮、老弱及生活困苦的人!」

十五年後的今天,王建明是聖公會福利協會的項目發展總監,專責設計老人院、青少年中心、復康中心等社福設施。

他另一個身分是IDEA基金會創辦人,過去七年在柬埔寨、尼泊爾、印度等發展中國家蓋起了十五座幼稚園及街童學校。

在第三世界建學校,最講究採光與通風,因為並非所有村莊都有電力供應,即使有,村民也負擔不起電費。王建明以建築學解釋:「要令課室光線充沛,做法是東邊開多些窗口,西邊開少些,讓太陽在早上升起時曬進來,同時避免下午西斜直照而無法上課。同時,東邊窗口開的位置比西邊高,就能促進風的對流。」

王建明說, 建築師只要緊守建築結構及通風採光原質,其餘的設計粉飾可交由來自各行各業的義工,以及教室的用家──小朋友與老師共同參與。因此,散落柬埔寨各處的IDEA學校,每間都是獨一無二的。「不同的義工、小孩加老師組合必然產生不一樣的設計,即使同樣是音樂教室,這批人的喜好與另一批肯定有別。」

別以為幼兒教育對於貧困地區是可有可無的奢侈品。倘若小孩因幼稚園環境惡劣而討厭上學,到了小學時學業跟不上,失去學習興趣,就容易逃學甚至輟學,父母也樂意多出一雙務農的手,孩子就會失去靠知識改寫命運的機會。

「雖然沒有正式調查小用家的意見,但單憑新建學校的上學人數逐年增加,就證實了孩子有份設計的教室能增加歸屬感,明亮涼快的環境也讓他們愛上學習。」

去年,王建明獲選為香港十大傑出青年,他說最想感謝的人是已過世的父親。「小時候跟爸爸到工廠幫忙,親睹工人的辛勞,令我今天成為一個懂得體恤工人的建築師。建築師獨力是蓋不起樓的,沒有建築工人幫助實現想法,再厲害的設計也只是圖紙一張。」

「建築可以是宏偉的摩天大廈,然而尋常百姓每天居住的公屋、村屋也是建築,數目比摩天大廈要多數以百萬倍。當然,世上即使沒了建築師,窮人的住所一樣存在,只是條件會惡劣得很。建築師的作用就是創新地善用資源,為每個人締造最基本而且最舒適的容身之處。我覺得這才是建築的本質,也是建築最強大的地方。」

文/資訊處 Christine N.