Professor Fanny M.C. Cheung, SBS, OBE, JP

Pro-Vice-Chancellor / Vice-President
Choh-Ming Li Professor of Psychology
Co-Director, Hong Kong Institute of Asia-Pacific Studies

Professor Fanny M.C. Cheung

Education & CUHK Employment


BA 1970, University of California
PhD 1975, University of Minnesota

CUHK Employment

Pro-Vice-Chancellor / Vice-President
Choh-Ming Li Professor of Psychology
Co-Director, Hong Kong Institute of Asia-Pacific Studies
Professor of Psychology
Chairperson, Department of Psychology
Dean, Faculty of Social Science
Reader, Department of Psychology
Senior Lecturer, Department of Psychology
Lecturer, Department of Psychology (formerly the Psychology Section until 1982)

Research Interests

Cross-cultural personality assessment and psychopathology, gender equality, and women leadership.

Honours & Awards

Silver Bauhinia Star, 2016
Distinguished Chinese Alumni Award, University of Minnesota, 2015
International Association of Applied Psychology Award for Distinguished Scientific Contributions to International Advancement of Applied Psychology, 2014
American Psychological Association Award for Distinguished Contributions to the International Advancement of Psychology, 2012
American Psychological Association, Division of International Psychology, Distinguished Psychologist Award, 2005
Fulbright New Century Scholars Program, International Scholar, 2004-2005
American Psychological Association, Presidential Citation, 2004
Distinguished Leadership Award for Internationals, University of Minnesota, 2003
Officer of The Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (OBE), 1997
Hong Kong Affairs Advisor, The People's Republic of China, 1995-1997
Justice of the Peace (JP), 1988
Badge of Honor, 1986


Fellow, International Association of Applied Psychology (IAAP)
Fellow, American Psychological Association (APA)
Fellow, Association of Psychological Sciences (APS)
Fellow, Hong Kong Psychological Society

Other Professional Activities

Professional Associations

Director, Chinese Women's Research Society, 2015-present
President, International Test Commission, 2012-2014
Member of the Board of Directors, International Association of Applied Psychology, 2006-present
Council Member, International Test Commission, 2006-2012; 2014-2016
President, Division of Clinical and Community Psychology, International Association of Applied Psychology, 1990-1994
President, Hong Kong Psychological Society, 1984-1985


Editor, Asian Journal of Social Psychology (UK:Blackwell), 2011-2014
Associate Editor, Asian Journal of Social Psychology (UK:Blackwell), 2005-2011
Associate Editor, Acta Psychologica Sinica (China: Academy of Science), 2006-2013; Editorial Board Member, 1995-2005
Associate Editor, Advances in Psychology (China: Hans Publishers), 2011-present
Editorial Board Member, Applied Psychology: an International Review (UK: Blackwell); Applied Psychology: Health and Well-being (UK: Blackwell); Chinese Journal of Psychology (Taiwan: Taiwan Psychological) and Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology (Netherland/US)
Editor of the Special Section "Psychological assessment in Asia" for Psychological Assessment (US: APA), 2003

Community Services (Partial List)

Chairperson, Advisory Group on Eliminating Discrimination against Sexual Minorities, 2013-2015
Member, Electoral Affairs Commission, 2012-present
Chairperson, Executive Committee, New Life Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association, 2008-present
All China Women's Federation, Hong Kong Delegate to the 7th, 8th, 9th and 10th National Congress of Chinese Women, 1994-2017
Member, Barristers' Disciplinary Tribunal Panel, 2005-2015
Member, Appeal Board Panel under the Urban Renewal Authority Ordinance, 2007-2013
Member, Women's Commission, 2001-2005
Advisor on Performing Arts, Leisure and Cultural Services Department, 2000-2004
Chairperson, Equal Opportunities Commission, 1996-1999
Chairperson, Advisory Committee on Social Work Training and Manpower Planning, 1993-1996
Member, Independent Police Complaints Council, 1991-1996
Appointed Member, Regional Council, 1991-1995
Appointed Member, Shatin District Board, 1983-1994