P R E S S   R E L E A S E

Chinese Version
- Chronic endocrine disorders
16 October 2000
- Chronic endocrine disordersCATHAY  PACIFIC  SUPPORTS 
Four Distinguished Persons Honoured by CUHK

The Chinese University of Hong Kong will confer honorary doctorates on four distinguished persons at its 56th Congregation which will be held on Thursday, 7 December, 2000.  They are Mr Lee Kuan Yew, Senior Minister in the Prime Ministerís Office of the Republic of Singapore; Professor Chen Jiaer, President of the National Natural Science Foundation of China and former President of Peking University; Dr Daisaku Ikeda, President of Soka Gakkai International and Founder of the Soka University, Japan; and Dr Tin Ka Ping, a successful entrepreneur and well-known philanthropist.

 Mr Lee Kuan Yew will be conferred the degree of Doctor of Laws, honoris causa.  Professor Chen Jiaer will receive the degree of Doctor of Science, honoris causa.  Dr Daisaku Ikeda and Dr Tin Ka Ping will each be awarded the degree of Doctor of Social Science, honoris causa.