Medals Donated to CUHK by Professor Kao

Stuart Ballantine Medal, Franklin Institute, USA (1977)

L M Ericsson International Prize, Sweden (1979)

US-Asia Institute Achievement Award (1983)


Alexander Graham Bell Medal, The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (1985)

Faraday Medal, Institute of Electrical Engineers, UK (1989)

Degree of Honorary Doctorate, Soka University, Japan (1991)


Medal of Engineering Excellence, World Federation of Engineering Organizations (1995)

Japan Prize in the Field of Information, Computer and Communication Systems, The Science and Technology Foundation of Japan (1996)

Prince Philip Medal, Fellowship of Engineering, The Royal Academy of Engineering, UK (1996)


Doctor of Telecommunications Engineering, honoris causa, The University of Padova, Italy (1996)

Charles Stark Draper Prize, National Academy of Engineering, USA (1999)

International Lecture Medal, The Institution of Electrical Engineers, UK (1998)


Leader of the Year 2002 – Innovation Technology Category, Sing Tao, HK (2002)

Millennium Outstanding Engineer Award, HK (2001)

CBE, HK (1993)


la Citta di Padova (1996)

A coin from Istituto Poligrafico e Zecca Dello Stato (mint of the Italian Republic), Italy

The HKIE Gold Medal Award, The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers (2006)

Nobel Prize in Physics (2009)