THE CHINESE UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG

Summary Report of the 4th (2009) Council Meeting (18th August, 2009)

- 1. The Council NOTED that Dr. Edgar W.K. Cheng had decided to retire from his office as Chairman of the Council upon the expiry of his present term of office on 23rd October, 2009. On behalf of the Council, the Vice-Chancellor expressed the gratitude and deep appreciation of all Council Members for Dr. Cheng's distinguished leadership and remarkable contributions during his tenure as Chairman of the Council. The Council NOMINATED Dr. Vincent H.C. Cheng for appointment by the Chancellor as Chairman of the Council for a period of three years from 24th October, 2009.
- 2. The Council APPROVED the acceptance of gifts, in particular a very generous donation by Professor Charles K. Kao, former Vice-Chancellor of the University, of 17 items of the distinguished medals and awards received by him over the years, which would serve as permanent mementos of his most outstanding accomplishments in science, engineering and education.
- 3. The Council APPROVED the extension of appointment of Professor Samuel S.M. Sun, Research Professor of Biology, as Master of S.H. Ho College for a further period up to 31st July, 2014.
- 4. The Council APPROVED the appointment of Professor Ng Cheuk-yiu as Dean of the Faculty of Science for a term of five years with effect from 1st September, 2009.
- 5. New Council members and extension of Council membership

<u>Name</u>	Period
Mr. John K.H. Lee	3 years from 12th July, 2009
Mr. Raymond Y.M. Luk	3 years from 12th July, 2009
Professor Fanny M.C. Cheung	3 years from 1st August, 2009
Professor Jimmy C.M. Yu	3 years from 5th September, 2009
Dr. Raymond P.L. Kwok	3 years from 24th October, 2009

- 6. Membership of Council committees
 - (1) Professor Joseph J.Y. Sung as Member of the Honorary Fellowship Committee from 1st August, 2009 to 6th November, 2011.
 - (2) Mr. Roger K.H. Luk as Member of the Terms of Service Committee for three years from 21st January, 2010.

* * * * *