THE CHINESE UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG

Summary Report of the 2nd (2010) Council Meeting (13th April, 2010)

- 1. The Council NOTED that Mr. Shum Choi-sang and Mr. Anthony Y.C. Yeh had been re-elected by the Board of Trustees of United College as Members of the Council each for a further period of three years from 16th March, 2010.
- 2. The Council NOTED the period of Council membership of the Honourable Wong Yuk-man had ceased with effect from 29th January, 2010 (i.e. upon his cessation as Member of the Legislative Council); and that as advised by the Secretary-General of the Legislative Council, the Honourable Paul M.P. Chan had been elected by the Members of the Legislative Council, from among their own number, as Member of the Council of the University for a period of three years from 26th February, 2010.
- 3. The Council RE-ELECTED Dr. William K.L. Fung and Dr. Anthony Neoh as Members of the Council each for a further period of three years from 29th May, 2010.
- 4. The Council APPROVED the re-appointment of Mr. Paul M.F. Cheng as Member of the Committee on Donations for a further period of three years from 23rd May, 2010.
- 5. The Council APPROVED the re-appointment of Mr. Johnson M.D. Cha as Member of the Finance Committee for a further period of three years from 1st July, 2010.
- 6. The Council APPROVED the re-appointment of Dr. Anthony Neoh as Senior Adviser to the Finance Committee for a further period of three years from 1st July, 2010.
- 7. The Council APPROVED the appointment of Professor Fung Tung, Professor in the Department of Geography and Resource Management, as Member of the Campus Planning and Building Committee for a period of three years from 1st August, 2010, succeeding Professor Lam Kin-che.
- 8. The Council RE-NOMINATED Dr. William K.L. Fung for appointment by the Board of Trustees of New Asia College as Council's representative on the said Board with effect from such a date and for such a period as determined by the New Asia College Board of Trustees.
- 9. The Council APPROVED the establishment of the Institute of Network Coding with effect from 14th April, 2010.
- 10. The Council APPROVED the renaming of the Department of Diagnostic Radiology and Organ Imaging as the Department of Imaging and Interventional Radiology with effect from 1st May, 2010.
- 11. The Council APPROVED the rules for the election of full-time Professoriate staff to the reorganized Senate.

- 12. The Council APPROVED the special arrangement for the payment of leave gratuities to appointees affected by the January 2010 pay cut upon their retirement during the period from 1st January to 31st July, 2010. The Council DELEGATED AUTHORITY to the Administrative and Planning Committee to approve further implementation arrangements.
- 13. The Council RECEIVED a report on the University's proposed development in Shenzhen and AGREED that the Task Force on the Development in Shenzhen and the Pearl River Delta Region which had already completed its tasks be dissolved with effect from 14th April, 2010. The Council also APPROVED the establishment of the Task Force on the Second Campus (in Shenzhen) with effect from 14th April, 2010 to further promote the development of the second campus (in Shenzhen).
- 14. The Council APPROVED the establishment of the Task Force on Private Teaching Hospital with effect from 14th April, 2010.
- 15. The Council APPROVED the acceptance of gifts.
- 16. The Council APPROVED the re-appointment of the following persons as Pro-Vice-Chancellors of the University:-
 - (a) Professor Kenneth Young, for a further period of one year from 1st August, 2010;
 - (b) Professor Jack C.Y. Cheng, for a further period of two years from 1st October, 2010:
 - (c) Professor Ching Pak-chung, for a further period of two years from 1st August, 2010; and
 - (d) Professor Michael K.M. Hui, for a further period of two years from 1st January, 2011.
- 17. The Council APPROVED the appointment of the following persons as Heads/Masters of Colleges:-
 - (a) Professor Shun Kwong-loi, Sin Wai Kin Professor of Chinese Culture in the Department of Philosophy, as Head of New Asia College for an initial period of four years from 1st August, 2010, succeeding Professor Henry N.C. Wong;
 - (b) Professor Chan Chi-fai, Andrew, Professor in the Department of Marketing, as Head of Shaw College for an initial period of four years from 1st July, 2010, succeeding Professor Joseph J.Y. Sung;
 - (c) Professor Kenneth Young, Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Professor of Physics of the University, as Founding Master of C.W. Chu College initially for a period of five years, with effect from a date to be determined by the Vice-Chancellor, and as Master Designate of C.W. Chu College from 14th April, 2010; and

(d) Professor Rance P.L. Lee, Emeritus Professor of Sociology of the University, as Founding Master of Wu Yee Sun College, initially for a period of five years, with effect from a date to be determined by the Vice-Chancellor, and as Master Designate of Wu Yee Sun College from 14th April, 2010.

* * * * *