THE CHINESE UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG

Summary Report of the 5th (2010) Council Meeting (5th October, 2010)

- 1. The Council NOTED that Professor Chan Kai-ming and Professor Ho Puay-peng had been elected by the Senate as Members of the Council each for a period from 27th August, 2010 to 31st July, 2013.
- 2. The Council NOTED that the Senate had elected/re-elected the following Senate Members to serve on the Honorary Degrees Committee each for a period from 27th August, 2010 to 31st July, 2012:-

Professor Jack C.Y. Cheng Professor Fok Tai-fai Professor Paul S.N. Lee Professor Kenneth Young

- 3. The Council NOTED that Professor Jack C.Y. Cheng had been elected by the Senate as Member of the Honorary Fellowship Committee for a period from 27th August, 2010 to 6th November, 2011.
- 4. The Council PASSED a <u>special resolution</u>, and subject to the approval thereof by the Chancellor, for amendments to be made to the Statutes of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, to provide for
 - (a) the inclusion of Associate Deans and Assistant Deans of the Faculty concerned and one student member to the membership of each Board of Faculty;
 - (b) the removal of the detailed administrative procedures for making University appointments from the Statutes, to allow such procedures to be determined by the Council from time to time; and
 - (c) the conferring of a new master's degree, the Master of Nursing Science (M.N.Sc.) and a new doctoral degree, the Doctor of Nursing (D. Nurs.) by the University,

and AUTHORIZED the Secretary of the University to sign the Amendment Statutes relating thereto.

- 5. The Council APPROVED the appointment of Mr. Aubrey K.S. Li as Member of the Finance Committee for a period of three years from 20th October, 2010.
- 6. The Council APPROVED the establishment of the Committees of Overseers for Morningside College and S.H. Ho College respectively, the composition and terms of reference of the two Committees of Overseers, and the appointment of the following persons as Members of the two Committees, each for a period of four years (the commencement date of the period of membership would be decided by the Vice-Chancellor):-

Committee of Overseers for Morningside College

Mr. Daniel Auerbach

Dr. Gerald Chan

Ms. Leonie Ki

Dr. Anthony Neoh

Professor Jesús Seade

Dr. Alex K. Yasumoto

Professor Sir James A. Mirrlees, Master of Morningside College (ex officio)

Committee of Overseers for S.H. Ho College

Dr. Ho Tzu-leung

Dr. the Honourable Sir David K.P. Li

Mr. Brian Li

Mr. Hamilton H.H. Ho

Mr. Thomas C.B. Liang

Mr. Roger K.H. Luk

Mr. Richard Y.S. Tang

Mr. Howard P.L. Yeung

Professor Samuel S.M. Sun, Master of S.H. Ho College (ex officio)

- 7. The Council APPROVED the acceptance of gifts and the naming of facilities.
- 8. The Council HEARD a verbal report from the Vice-Chancellor on the Shenzhen Campus project and the Private Teaching Hospital project.
- 9. The Council APPROVED staff matters and extension of service.

* * * * *