THE CHINESE UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG

Summary Report of the 5th (2012) Council Meeting (30th October, 2012)

- 1. The Council NOTED that the Chancellor had re-appointed Dr. Vincent H.C. Cheng as Chairman of the Council for a further period of three years from 24th October, 2012, on the nomination of the Council.
- 2. The Council RE-ELECTED the following persons, as Members of the Council each for a further period of three years from the respective effective dates:-

Dr. Raymond P.L. Kwok
Mr. Chien Lee
Dr. Ho Tzu-leung

Effective Date
24th October, 2012
16th December, 2012
21st January, 2013

- 3. The Council RECEIVED an update on the progress for setting up The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen, and GAVE CONSENT for the appointment of the First Directors, Founder Member and First Secretary of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (Shenzhen) Foundation Limited [CUHK (SZ) Foundation] by the Board of Directors of the CUHK (SZ) Foundation.
- 4. The Council APPROVED the audited Financial Statements of the University and the Annual Return on the Use of University Grants Committee Funds, both for the year ended 30th June, 2012 and the two Representation Letters, and RECEIVED the Treasurer's Report thereon.
- 5. The Council RECEIVED the audited Financial Statements of the Staff Superannuation Scheme (1995) and the Terms of Service (C) Staff Terminal Gratuity Scheme both for the year ended 30th June, 2012.
- 6. The Council CONSIDERED a paper on the composition of the reorganized Council and RESOLVED that the undergraduate students be represented on the reorganized Council by "the President of the University Students Union, to be appointed by the Council".
- 7. The Council RE-APPOINTED
 - (a) Dr. Anthony Neoh as Chairman of the Terms of Service Committee for a further period of three years with effect from 1st December, 2012;
 - (b) Mr. Roger K.H. Luk as a Member of the Terms of Service Committee for a further period of three years from 21st January, 2013; and
 - (c) Dr. Paul M.L. Kan as a Member of the Campus Planning and Building Committee for a further period of three years from 16th December, 2012.
- 8. The Council ELECTED Ms. Cecilia S.W. Lee as a Member of the Audit Committee for a period of three years from 25th February, 2013.

- 9. The Council APPROVED the re-appointment of:-
 - (a) Professor Michael K.M. Hui as Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the University for a further period of three years, with effect from 1st January, 2013; and
 - (b) Professor Xu Yangsheng as Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the University for a further period of two years, with effect from 1st March, 2013.
- 10. The Council APPROVED the establishment of the Institute of Innovative Medicine, with effect from 31st October, 2012.
- 11. The Council APPROVED the appointment of Chairmen of Departments.
- 12. The Council APPROVED that teaching staff of the ranks of Principal Lecturer, Professional Consultant and Teaching Fellow be formally designated as members of the full-time teaching staff of the rank of Assistant Lecturer and above, so that they were regarded as "teachers" in accordance with Section 2(1) of The Chinese University of Hong Kong Ordinance (the Ordinance), along with Assistant Lecturer, Lecturer, Senior Lecturer, Assistant Professor, Associate Professor and Professor, with effect from 31st October, 2012, thereby making them eligible to serve as members of the Board of Faculty and Board of Department/School of Studies under the recently amended Statutes 15 and 17 of the Ordinance respectively, subject to the Senate determining the precise numbers of teachers at various ranks to be represented on the Boards concerned.
- 13. The Council APPROVED the acceptance of gifts and the naming of facilities.
- 14. The Council HEARD a verbal report from the Vice-Chancellor on the sixth round of the Matching Grant Scheme.
- 15. The Council NOTED that Professor Dennis K.P. Ng had been elected by the Senate, as a Member of the Council for the period from 21st September, 2012 to 31st July, 2015.
- 16. The Council NOTED that the following persons had been re-nominated by the Chancellor, as Members of the Council each for a further period of three years from the respective effective dates:-

Dr. Vincent H.C. Cheng

Dr. Paul M.L. Kan

Effective Date
24th October, 2012
27th November, 2012

17. The Council NOTED that the Senate had, elected/re-elected the following Senate Members to serve on the Honorary Degrees Committee each for the period from 21st September, 2012 to 31st July, 2014:-

Professor Jack C.Y. Cheng Professor Fok Tai-fai Professor Hau Kit-tai Professor Wong Wing-shing

- 18. The Secretary REPORTED that as advised by the Secretary-General of the Legislative Council, the Honourable Cheung Yu-yan, Dr. the Honourable Elizabeth Quat, and the Honourable Fan Kwok-wai were elected by the Members of the Legislative Council, from among their own number, as Members of the Council of the University each for a period of three years from 19th October, 2012.
- 19. The Council NOTED the lists of Fellows of the Colleges.

* * * * *