THE CHINESE UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG

Summary Report of the 3rd (2013) Council Meeting (18th June, 2013)

- 1. The Council APPROVED the Budget of the University for 2013-14.
- 2. The Council PASSED a <u>special resolution</u>, in accordance with Sections 2(2), 13(1), and Statute 11.8(1)(a) of The Chinese University of Hong Kong Ordinance (the Ordinance), for amendments to be made to Statutes 1, 11, and 15 of the Ordinance, to provide for the reorganization of the Council of the University, as endorsed by the Senate, and subject to the approval thereof by the Chancellor.
- 3. The Council HEARD a presentation by Professor Christopher Gane, Chairperson of the Review Committee on the Handling of Sexual Harassment, and RECEIVED a report of the Review Committee on the Handling of Sexual Harassment, NOTING that the report would be forwarded to the Committee Against Sexual Harassment to work out the implementation details.
- 4. The Council APPROVED the award of an Honorary Degree at the 75th Congregation of the University to be held on Friday, 6th December, 2013.
- 5. The Council APPROVED the re-appointment of Professor Fung Tung, Professor in the Department of Geography and Resource Management, as a Member of the Campus Planning and Building Committee for a further period of three years from 1st August, 2013.
- 6. The Council APPROVED the re-appointment of Mr. Aubrey K.S. Li and Mr. Chien Lee as Members of the Finance Committee each for a further period of three years from 20th October, 2013 and 10th December, 2013 respectively.
- 7. The Council APPROVED the appointment of Mr. Terence C.W. Chan as Senior Adviser to the Finance Committee for a period of two years with effect from 1st August, 2013.
- 8. The Council APPROVED the re-appointment of Mr. Karl C.L. Kwok as Chairman of the University Tender Board for a further period of three years from 20th October, 2013.
- 9. The Council APPROVED the re-election of Mr. Roger K.H. Luk, Dr. Anthony Neoh and Dr. Ho Tzu-leung as Members of the Honorary Fellowship Committee each for a further period of two years from 7th November, 2013.
- 10. The Council GAVE CONSENT for the appointment of Mrs. Salome Chan Lam Yuet-ping, Bursar-designate (and Bursar with effect from 1st August, 2013), as Director of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (Shenzhen) Foundation Limited [CUHK (SZ) Foundation] by the Board of Directors of the CUHK (SZ) Foundation with effect from 1st August, 2013.
- 11. The Council GAVE CONSENT for the appointment of Mrs. Salome Chan Lam Yuet-ping, Bursar-designate (and Bursar with effect from 1st August, 2013), *ex officio* as Director of The Hong Kong Institute of Biotechnology Limited (HKIB) by the Board of Directors of HKIB with effect from 1st August, 2013.

- 12. The Council APPROVED the appointment of Chairmen of Departments, Directors of Schools and Directors of Studies.
- 13. The Council APPROVED the proposed Constitutions of the Student Unions of C.W. Chu College and Wu Yee Sun College with effect from 19th June, 2013, and DELEGATED AUTHORITY to the Administrative and Planning Committee with effect from 19th June, 2013 to approve, in future, matters relating to the Constitutions of the Student Unions of the respective Colleges.
- 14. The Council APPROVED the proposal to change the name of the "Li & Fung Institute of Supply Chain Management & Logistics" to "Asian Institute of Supply Chains & Logistics" with effect from 1st July, 2013.
- 15. The Council APPROVED the appointment/re-appointment of Professor Chan Wai-sum and Mr. Cheng Kin-ping, Benson who had been elected by the Members of the Staff Superannuation Scheme (1995) and the Terms of Service (C) Staff Terminal Gratuity Scheme, as Trustees of the aforesaid Schemes for a period of two years from 1st July, 2013.
- 16. The Council APPROVED the Budget of the Morningside College, S.H. Ho College, C.W. Chu College, Wu Yee Sun College and Lee Woo Sing College for 2013-14.
- 17. The Council NOTED that the periods of appointment of two Faculty Deans would end as follows:

Professor Wong Tak-jun

Professor Wong Tak-jun

Dean of the Faculty of Business Administration

Term to Expire
31st January, 2014

Professor Paul S.N. Lee 31st July, 2014 Dean of the Faculty of Social Science

and that accordingly, a Search Committee for the Appointment of the Dean of the respective Faculties would be constituted which would each include a non-staff Council Member nominated by the Council; and NOMINATED the following Council Members to serve on the respective Search Committees for the Appointment of Faculty Deans with effect from 19th June, 2013:-

Faculty of Business Administration: Mr. Karl C.L. Kwok Faculty of Social Science: Dr. Chan Chi-sun

- 18. The Council APPROVED the acceptance of gifts and the naming of facilities.
- 19. the Council NOTED the nominations of eight persons by the Shenzhen University as representatives of the Shenzhen partners to serve on the Governing Board [理事會] of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen [CUHK (SZ)].
- 20. The Council NOTED the establishment of the Search Committee for the Appointment of the President of CUHK (SZ) with the Vice-Chancellor as Chairman of the Search Committee in his capacity as Chairman of the Governing Board.

- 21. The Council NOTED the draft Constitution of CUHK (SZ), and that legal advice would be sought before it was formally approved by the Governing Board of CUHK (SZ).
- 22. The Council NOTED that the University Grants Committee (UGC) had issued a preliminary Report of the Financial Affairs Working Group established to ensure that there was no cross-subsidy of non-UGC-funded activities by UGC funds.

* * * * *