THE CHINESE UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG

Summary Report of the 2nd (2014) Council Meeting (8th April, 2014)

- 1. The Council HEARD a verbal report from the Vice-Chancellor on recent developments at the University. The Council NOTED that formal approval was received from the State Ministry of Education for the establishment of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen.
- 2. The Council RECEIVED a report on the consultation with the student unions on Council reorganization.
- 3. The Council RESOLVED that Professor Joseph J.Y. Sung be reappointed as Vice-Chancellor of the University for a further period of three years, until 30th June, 2018.
- 4. The Council APPROVED the following appointment/re-appointment:-
 - (a) Professor Ching Pak-chung as Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the University for a further period from 1st August to 31st December, 2014;
 - (b) Professor Chan Wai-kwong, Victor, Professor in the Department of Music, as Head of Chung Chi College for a period of four years from 1st August, 2014;
 - (c) Professor Chan Chi-fai, Andrew, Professional Consultant carrying the title of Professor of Practice in Marketing (by courtesy) in the Department of Marketing, as Head of Shaw College for a further period of three years from 1st July, 2014;
 - (d) Professor Samuel S.M. Sun, Emeritus Professor of Biology and Professor (by courtesy) in the State Key Laboratory of Agrobiotechnology, as Master of S.H. Ho College for a further period of two years from 1st August, 2014;
 - (e) Professor Joseph W.Y. Lau, Professor of Surgery in the Faculty of Medicine, as Master of Lee Woo Sing College for a further period of three years from 1st January, 2015;
 - (f) Professor Chiu Chi-yue as Dean of the Faculty of Social Science for a term of five years, targeted to start in the 2014-15 academic year;
 - (g) Professor Lutz-Christian Wolff, Professor of Law, as Dean of the Graduate School on a concurrent basis for a period of three years with effect from 1st September, 2014; and
 - (h) Professor Dennis K.P. Ng, Professor in the Department of Chemistry, as the University Dean of Students on a concurrent basis for a further period of three years with effect from 1st August, 2014.

- 5. The Council NOTED that the following teaching staff members had been appointed/re-appointed by the Vice-Chancellor as Associate Vice-Presidents (retitled from Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellors) on a concurrent basis each for a period of three years:-
 - (a) Professor Poon Wai-yin, Professor in the Department of Statistics with effect from 1st February, 2014;
 - (b) Professor Dennis K.P. Ng, Professor in the Department of Chemistry with effect from 1st August, 2014; and
 - (c) Professor Fung Tung, Professor in the Department of Geography and Resource Management with effect from 1st August, 2014.
- 6. The Council APPROVED the appointment of Professor Yeoh Eng-kiong as Director of The Jockey Club School of Public Health and Primary Care (equivalent to Chairman of Department) for a period from 1st April, 2014 to 28th February, 2017.
- 7. The Council NOMINATED Mr. Hamen S.H. Fan to serve on the Review Committee on the Re-appointment of the Dean of the Faculty of Engineering with effect from 9th April, 2014.
- 8. The Council APPROVED the proposed enhancement of the Staff Medical Benefits Scheme with effect from 1st July, 2014.
- 9. The Council APPOINTED additional law firms to provide legal advice and professional assistance to the University in dealing with matters relating to outside consultancy, intellectual property, knowledge transfer and related matters.
- 10. The Council APPROVED the extension of agreement with Hang Seng Bank Limited for the operation of the CUHK Affinity Card Programme for a further term of five years from 1st July, 2014.
- 11. The Council APPROVED the acceptance of gifts and the naming of facilities.

* * * * *