THE CHINESE UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG

Summary Report of the 1st (2017) Council Meeting (24th January, 2017)

- 1. The Council RECEIVED a report on the matters that were dealt with by the Executive Committee of the Council (other than those being separately dealt with in this Council meeting) at its meeting on 14th December, 2016, for and on behalf of the Council.
- 2. The Council NOTED the further progress made in connection with the following matters:-
 - (a) Council Re-organization;
 - (b) Search for the New Vice-Chancellor; and
 - (c) Seminar on the Chancellorship.
- 3. The Council RECEIVED a verbal report from the Vice-Chancellor on the recent developments at the University as follows:-
 - (a) UGC's Sector-wide Briefing Sessions for Council Members of the UGC-funded Universities;
 - (b) Implementation of the Governance Report;
 - (c) The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen [CUHK(SZ)]; and
 - (d) Student Mental Wellness.
- 4. The Council RECEIVED the Annual Report of the University 2015-16, including the Report of the Council, with PowerPoint presentation from the Vice-Chancellor on the development and achievements of the University in 2015-16.
- 5. The Council RECEIVED a progress report on the development of the private teaching hospital.
- 6. The Council RE-ELECTED Mr. Chien Lee as Vice-Chairman of the Council for a further period of two years with effect from 2nd March, 2017, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 7. The Council APPOINTED Dr. Anthony Neoh as Treasurer of the University for a period of three years with effect from 2nd March, 2017, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 8. The Council ELECTED Mr. Roger K.H. Luk as a Member of the Council for a period of three years with effect from 2nd March, 2017, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 9. The Council APPROVED the re-appointment of the following persons as representatives of the University to serve on the Governing Board of CUHK(SZ) for a further period of four years with effect from 17th April, 2017:-

Professor Joseph J.Y. Sung (Chairman) (ex officio) Professor Benjamin W. Wah Professor Ching Pak-chung Professor Xu Yangsheng 10. The Council GAVE CONSENT for the appointment of the following persons as Directors of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (Shenzhen) Foundation Limited [CUHK(SZ) Foundation] by the Board of Directors of the CUHK(SZ) Foundation with effect from 1st February, 2017:-

Dr. Norman N.P. Leung Mr. Anthony T.T. Yuen Mr. Hamen S.H. Fan Professor Benjamin W. Wah

- 11. The Council APPROVED the appointment of Honorary Fellows, as recommended by the Honorary Fellowship Committee and endorsed by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 12. The Council APPROVED the appointment of Mr. Eric S.P. Ng, Registrar and Secretary, as Vice-President (Administration) for a period of three years with effect from 1st April, 2017, concurrent with his appointment as University Secretary, and that Mr. Ng be released from his appointment as Registrar with effect from the same date.
- 13. The Council APPROVED the appointment of Mr. Dickson D.S. Lo as Chairman and Mr. Enders W.H. Lam as a Member of the Campus Planning and Building Committee each for a period of three years with effect from 2nd March, 2017, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 14. The Council NOMINATED Mr. Hamen S.H. Fan as a Member of the Honorary Degrees Committee for a period of three years with effect from 1st March, 2017, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 15. The Council APPROVED the appointment of Dr. Anita F.Y. Leung as a Member of the Committee on Institutional Advancement for a period of three years with effect from 1st February, 2017, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 16. The Council APPROVED the appointment of Mr. Roger K.H. Luk as Chairman of the Risk Management Committee for a period of three years with effect from 2nd March, 2017, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 17. The Council APPROVED the appointment of Mr. Anthony T.T. Yuen as Chairman and Dr. Maggie M.K. Koong as a Member of the Terms of Service Committee each for a period of three years with effect from 2nd March, 2017, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 18. The Council NOTED the continuation of appointment of the following Trustees of the Staff Superannuation Scheme (1995) and the Terms of Service (C) Staff Terminal Gratuity Scheme, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council:-
 - (a) Mr. Roger K.H. Luk, during the period of his Council membership; and
 - (b) Dr. Anthony Neoh, Treasurer of the University and Chairman of the Finance Committee, *ex officio*.

- 19. The Council APPROVED the appointment of Mr. Charles Y.W. Leung as the Council's representative on the Boards of Advisers for the appointment of senior administrative staff for a period of three years with effect from 3rd April, 2017, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 20. The Council APPROVED the naming of facilities.

* * * * *