THE CHINESE UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG

Summary Report of the 1st (2020) Council Meeting (14th January, 2020)

- 1. The Council RECEIVED a report on the matters that were dealt with by the Executive Committee of the Council at its meetings on 18th November, 2019 and 12th December, 2019 for and on behalf of the Council.
- 2. The Council RECEIVED a verbal report from the Vice-Chancellor on the recent developments at the University as follows:-
 - (a) The passing away of Ms. Janet Chow, Director of Institutional Advancement, on 3rd January, 2020; and
 - (b) Campus situation and class resumption.
- 3. The Council RECEIVED the Annual Report of the University 2018-19, incorporating the Report of the Council.
- 4. The Council RECEIVED the latest progress of the development of the School of Medicine in The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen.
- 5. The Council RECEIVED a progress report on the development of the private teaching hospital.
- 6. The Council RE-APPOINTED Dr. Anthony Neoh as Treasurer of the University for a further period of three years with effect from 2nd March, 2020, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 7. The Council APPROVED the appointment of Honorary Fellows, as recommended by the Honorary Fellowship Committee and endorsed by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 8. The Council APPROVED the re-appointment of Professor Poon Wai-yin, Professor in the Department of Statistics, as Pro-Vice-Chancellor for a further period of three years with effect from 1st May, 2020.
- 9. The Council APPROVED the re-appointment of Mr. Eric S.P. Ng, University Secretary, as Vice-President (Administration) on a concurrent basis for a further period of three years with effect from 1st April, 2020.
- 10. The Council RE-ELECTED Mr. Roger K.H. Luk as a Member of the Council for a further period of three years with effect from 2nd March, 2020.
- 11. The Council APPROVED the re-appointment of Mr. Dickson D.S. Lo as Chairman of the Campus Planning and Building Committee for a further period of three years with effect from 2nd March, 2020, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.

- 12. The Council APPROVED the re-appointment of the following persons as Members of the Committee on Institutional Advancement each for a further period of three years, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council:-
 - (a) Dr. Anita F.Y. Leung with effect from 1st February, 2020; and
 - (b) Mr. Charles Y.W. Leung, Dr. Chien Lee and Mr. Thomas C.B. Liang with effect from 15th June, 2020.
- 13. The Council APPROVED the re-appointment of Mr. Roger K.H. Luk as Senior Adviser to the Finance Committee for a further period of two years with effect from 2nd March, 2020.
- 14. The Council RE-NOMINATED Mr. Hamen S.H. Fan as a Member of the Honorary Degrees Committee for a further period of three years with effect from 1st March, 2020, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 15. The Council APPROVED the re-appointment of Mr. Roger K.H. Luk as Chairman of the Risk Management Committee for a further period of three years with effect from 2nd March, 2020.
- 16. The Council APPROVED the appointment of Dr. Maggie M.K. Koong as a Member of the Terms of Service Committee for a further period of three years with effect from 2nd March, 2020, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 17. The Council APPROVED the re-appointment of Mr. Charles Y.W. Leung as the Council's representative on the Boards of Advisers for the appointment of senior administrative staff for a further period of three years with effect from 3rd April, 2020, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 18. The Council APPROVED,
 - (a) the establishment of The Chinese University of Hong Kong The Shenzhen Institutes of Advanced Technology (SIAT) of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) Joint Research Laboratory on Robotics and Intelligent Systems, as recommended by the Senate, with effect from 15th January, 2020; and
 - (b) the establishment of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) Guangzhou Regenerative Medicine and Health Guangdong Laboratory (GDL) Advanced Institute for Regenerative Medicine, as recommended by the Senate, with effect from 15th January, 2020.
- 19. The Council NOTED that Professor Chan Sun-on had been re-elected by the Assembly of Fellows of New Asia College, as a Member of the Council for a further period of three years from 21st January, 2020.
- 20. The Council NOTED that Professor Dennis Y.M. Lo and Professor Joseph J.Y. Sung had been re-/elected by the Senate as Members of the Honorary Fellowship Committee each for a period of two years from 7th November, 2019.

* * * * *