## THE CHINESE UNIVERSITY OF HONG KONG

## Summary Report of the 2nd (2021) Council Meeting (27th April, 2021)

- 1. The Council RECEIVED a report on the matters that were dealt with by the Executive Committee of the Council at its meeting on 26th March, 2021 for and on behalf of the Council.
- 2. The Council RECEIVED a verbal report from the Vice-Chancellor on the recent developments and activities at the University, including
  - (a) Recruitment of an Associate Vice-President for External Engagement and Outreach;
  - (b) Proposals to enhance national security education on campus;
  - (c) Plans for the new academic year and students to return to hostels;
  - (d) Disciplinary cases in connection with refusal to show identity at campus entrances;
  - (e) Establishment of the Task Force on Collaboration between CUHK and The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen [CUHK(SZ)]; and
  - (f) Progress update on the School of Medicine and the School of Music of CUHK(SZ).
- 3. The Council RECEIVED a report on the senior management's handling of the election of the Executive Committee of the Student Union of The Chinese University of Hong Kong and HEARD the Secretary highlight some of the major incidents and actions taken by the University.
- 4. The Council APPROVED the final draft of the University's *Strategic Plan 2021-2025*.
- 5. The Council RECEIVED a progress report on the development of the private teaching hospital.
- 6. The Council APPROVED the appointment/re-appointment of the following persons as College Masters:-
  - (a) Professor Wong Suk-ying, Veronica, Professor in the Department of Sociology, as Master of C.W. Chu College for an initial period of four years with effect from 1st July, 2021; and
  - (b) Professor Anthony T.C. Chan, Professor of Clinical Oncology in the Department of Clinical Oncology, as Master of Wu Yee Sun College for a further period of three years with effect from 1st August, 2021.
- 7. The Council APPROVED the establishment of The Chinese University of Hong Kong Interdisciplinary Artificial Intelligence Research Institute with effect from 28th April, 2021.
- 8. (a) The Council RE-ELECTED Dr. Raymond P.L. Kwok as a Member of the Council for a further period of three years with effect from 24th October, 2021, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.

- (b) The Council NOTED that Professor Wing Yun-kwok had been elected by the Assembly of Fellows of New Asia College as a Member of the Council from 16th April, 2021 to 20th January, 2023.
- 9. The Council ELECTED Mr. Dennis C.I. Chow as a Member of the Audit Committee for a period of three years from 4th August, 2021, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 10. The Council APPROVED the appointment/re-appointment of the following persons as Chairman/Member of the Terms of Service Committee each for a period of three years, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council:-
  - (a) Mr. Clement S.T. Fung as Chairman with effect from 4th August, 2021, and by virtue thereof, he would be a Member of the Executive Committee of the Council *ex officio*; and
  - (b) Ms. Kelly Y.S. Chan as a Member with effect from 31st October, 2021.
- 11. The Council GAVE CONSENT for the appointment of Mr. Anthony T.T. Yuen as Director of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (Shenzhen) Foundation Limited [CUHK(SZ) Foundation] by the Board of Directors of the CUHK(SZ) Foundation on an ad personam basis for a term of three years from 4th August, 2021, as recommended by the Executive Committee of the Council.
- 12. The Council NOTED that Professor Alan K.L. Chan had been elected by the Senate as a Member of the Honorary Fellowship Committee from 22nd March to 6th November, 2021 and for a further period of two years from 7th November, 2021.
- 13. The Council NOTED the nomination of eight persons by the Shenzhen University as representatives of the Shenzhen partners to serve on the Governing Board [理事會] of CUHK(SZ).
- 14. The Council NOTED the revised Constitution of CUHK(SZ).
- 15. The Council NOTED that Mr. Kelvin Y.M. Yeung had been elected by the Convocation as a Member of the Council for a period from 24th April, 2021 to 31st August, 2023, by virtue of his capacity as Chairman of the Convocation.

\* \* \* \* \*