Lao She [real name Shu Qingchun] 1899-1966

One of the best loved modern Chinese authors, he was famous for his humour and his sympathy with the poor and disadvantaged. He was born into a Manchu family and brought up in poverty after the death of his father. He graduated from Peking Normal University in 1917 and became a teacher, then left China in 1924 and joined the School of Oriental and African Studies, at London University, as a lecturer. While there, he published his first three novels. After he returned to China in 1930, he taught at Qilu University in Shandong and continued to write. In 1935 he published his novel Camel Xiangzi. He spent some time in the United States after World War II, but returned to China soon after the founding of the PRC, and was awarded the title of 'People's Artist' by the Peking City Government. During the Cultural Revolution he was severely persecuted and committed suicide. See Renditions No. 38 for the last two days of his life.

Works available in English:

  • Beneath the Red Banner (Don J. Cohn). Beijing: Chinese Literature, 1982.
  • Blades of Grass: The Stories of Lao She (William A. Lyell and Sarah Wei-ming
       Chen). Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 1999.
  • Camel Xiangzi (Shi Xiaoqing). Beijing: Foreign Languages Press, 1981;
       Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1981.
  • Cat Country: A Satirical Novel of China in the 1930's (William A. Lyell, Jr.).
       Columbus: Ohio State University Press, 1970.
  • Crescent Moon and Other Stories (W.J.F. Jenner). Beijing: Chinese Literature
       Press, 1985.
  • Dragon Beard Ditch: A Play in Three Acts (Liao Hung-ying). Beijing: Foreign
       Languages Press, 1956.
  • Heavensent (Xiong Deni). Hong Kong: Joint Publishing Co., 1986.
  • Ma and Son: A Novel (Jean M. James). San Francisco: Chinese Materials
       Center, 1980.
  • Mr. Ma & Son: A Sojourn in London (Julie Jimmerson). Beijing: Foreign
       Languages Press, 1991.
  • Rickshaw (Jean M. James). Honolulu: University Press of Hawaii, 1979.
  • Rickshaw Boy (Evan King). New York: Reynal & Hitchcock, 1945; New York:
       Sun Dial Press; London: Michael Joseph, 1946.
  • Teahouse: A Play in Three Acts (John Howard-Gibbon). Beijing: Foreign
       Languages Press, 1980.
  • The Drum Singers (Helena Kuo). Hong Kong: Joint Publishing Co., 1987.
  • The Quest for Love of Lao Lee (Helena Kuo). New York: Reynal & Hitchcock,
  • The Rickshaw Boy (Richard F.S. Yang and Herbert M. Stahl). New York:
       Selected Academic Readings, 1964.
  • The Two Mas (Kenny K. Huang & David Finkelstein). Hong Kong: Joint
       Publishing Co., 1984.
  • The Yellow Storm (Ida Pruitt). New York: Harcourt, Brace & Co., 1951.