Sub-Committee on Research

Membership

- Professor Fanny Cheung (Chairman, Pro-Vice-Chancellor/Vice-President)
- Professor Chan Wai Yee (Deputy Chairperson, Professor, School of Biomedical Sciences)
- Professor Samuel Sun (Professor, School of Life Sciences)
- Professor Andrew Yao (Distinguished Professor-at-Large)
- Professor Liu Pak Wai (Emeritus Professor, Department of Economics)
- Professor David Faure (Wei Lun Research Professor of History)
- Professor Leung Yee (Research Professor, Department of Geography and Resource Management)
- Professor Jimmy Yu (Professor, Department of Chemistry)
- Professor Walter Ho (Secretary, Director of the Office of Research and Knowledge Transfer Services)

Terms of Reference

- To review the AoE awards and results of the RAE to identify disciplinary strengths and weaknesses, opportunities and threats.
- To review the past performance of the five focused areas of research adopted in the 2006 Strategic Plan.
- To evaluate the potential strategic development of the new interdisciplinary research units.
- To propose the strategic areas of research development in the 2016 Strategic Plan to the Strategic Planning Committee.
- To propose capacity building strategies for supporting research initiatives to the Strategic Planning Committee.
- To review policies and propose initiatives to promote academia-industry partnership, knowledge transfer and entrepreneurship to the Strategic Planning Committee.