In view of the important roles of scientific computing in many fields of science, social science, medicine and technology research, as well as in STEM education, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) has established the Central Research Computing Cluster in October 2018. The computing cluster, nick-named ‘Charles’ to commemorate the late Professor Charles Kao, is equipped with more than two thousand CPU cores and thirty-two professional-level graphics processing units (General-purpose GPU). Besides supporting research work, it also provides resources for training students to apply scientific computing in different fields. The Central Research Computing Cluster has also become a platform to promote cross-interdisciplinary collaboration at CUHK. We aim to promote scientific computing as a powerful tool for different research fields by sharing resources and experience in a synergistic manner.

The Management Committee

The Central Cluster is overseen by the management committee for Central Research Computing Cluster under Sub- Committee on Research Computing of the IT Governance Committee.

  • Professor Ming Chung Chu, Department of Physics (Chairperson)
  • Professor Patrick Lee, Department of Computer Science
  • Professor Ka Fai To, Department of Anatomical and Cellular Pathology
  • Professor Ting Fung Chan, School of Life Sciences
  • Professor Wai Kwong Samuel Chan, Department of Decision Sciences and Managerial Economics
  • Professor Steve Yim, Department of Geography and Resource Management
  • Professor Amos Tai, Earth System Science Program, Faculty of Science
  • Ms. Carol Chiu, Director of the Information Technology Services Centre
  • Mr. Nicky Leung, Information Technology Services Centre (Secretary)

Getting Started