About Us

Get to know the gallery

In celebration of its Golden Jubilee, CUHK  started to set up the University Gallery. The steering committee was led by Professor Leung Yuen-sang, and members included Professor Michael K.M. Hui, Professor Joseph S.P. Ting, Professor Ng Lun Ngai-ha, Mr Heung Shu-fai, Mr Ho Man-sum, Ms Alima S.F. Tuet, and Ms Amy Y.M. Tsui. The University Gallery was built with a generous donation from the T S Kwok Foundation. Dr Raymond P.L. Kwok, representing the T S Kwok Foundation, and Professor Joseph J.Y. Sung, Vice-Chancellor of CUHK, officiated at the grand opening ceremony on 28 November 2013.

With seven zones across two storeys, the University Gallery is located at the main entrance of the University Library. Through the display of hundreds of precious photographs, artefacts, and multimedia resources, the Gallery exhibits the history, memorable moments and achievements of CUHK in the past 50 years, mirroring the rapid changes of our home city.


Graduation Certificate of Professor Yu Ying-shih (1952) The satin (1963) Seal of the Vice-Chancellor (1964) Coat of arms (1967) ‘Asian Hero’ Award from the Time Magazine (2003) Naming Certificate of Asteroid 'Kaokuen' (1996) Naming Certificate of Asteroid 'Kaokuen' (1996) A letter from Ch'ien Mu to Tang Chun-i (1960) Student exchange programme signed up with UC (1965)


  • UGallery's Opening Hours during the Lunar New Year Holidays
    24 – 28 January 2020 Closed
    29 January 2020 10am – 5pm
    15 January 2010
  • UGallery's Opening Hours during Christmas and New Year holidays
    25 December 2019 Closed
    26 December 2019 Closed
    1 January 2020 Closed
    16 December 2019
  • UGallery's Opening Hours during Mid-Autumn Festival, National Day and Chung Yeung Festival
    14 September 2019 Closed
    1 October 2019 Closed
    7 October 2019 Closed
    5 September 2019
  • Typhoon & Black Rainstorm Arrangement 1 August 2016


Opening Hours

Opening Hours

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday: 10am – 5pm

Wednesday: 12nn – 5pm

Sunday: 2pm – 5pm

(Closed on Public Holidays)