Stephen C. Soong Translation Studies
Memorial Awards

Stephen C. Soong (1919–1996) was a prolific writer and translator, as well as an active figure in the promotion of translation education and research. To commemorate his contributions in this field, the Stephen C. Soong Translation Studies Memorial Awards were set up in 1997 by RCT, with a generous donation from the Soong family. It gives recognition to academics who have made contributions to original research in Chinese Translation Studies, particularly in the use of first-hand sources for historical and cultural investigations.

I. General regulations
II. Winners
III. Among the Best
Stephen C. Soong (1919–1996)

I. General regulations for the Awards are as follows:

1. Eligibility is limited to scholars or research students affiliated to higher education/research institutes in mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Macau or overseas regions.

2. Submissions must be articles written in either Chinese or English and published in a refereed journal within the specified calendar year. Each candidate can enter up to two articles for the Awards each year. The publication date and the title and volume/number of the journal in which the article(s) appeared must be provided on top of each entry.

3. Up to three articles can be selected as winners each year. A certificate and a cheque of HK$3,000 will be awarded for each winning entry.

4. The adjudication committee, which consists of renowned scholars in Translation Studies from Greater China, will meet in Hong Kong every April. The results will be announced in relevant academic journals of the region; winners will be notified individually.

5. Articles submitted will not be returned to the candidates.

6. Two new submission mechanisms have been introduced since 2010 to the Stephen C. Soong Translation Studies Awards. They are:

  Nomination: scholars are welcome to nominate outstanding journal articles in the field for the Awards.

  E-mail submission: in addition to mail-in submissions, electronic or scanned journal papers via emails are also accepted.

Entries should be submitted to on or before 30 April 2023. For details of the Awards 2022-2023, please click here.

II. Winners:

2021, 2022
2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020
2009, 2008, 2007, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2002, 2001, 2000, 1999

III. Among the Best

The winning entries of the first six years are now collected and published as Among the Best: Stephen C. Soong Chinese Translation Studies Awards 1999-2004 (2 vols.).

Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Copyright © 2017 All rights reserved.
Research Centre for Translation, The Chinese University of Hong Kong.
The Chinese University of Hong Kong Institute of Chinese Studies