Virtual Tour

The change of government in China in 1949 brought a drastic impact upon Hong Kong. Its population increased manifold due to the sudden influx of refugees. Yet on the other hand, the unsettled conditions on the Mainland also sent to Hong Kong a large pool of distinguished scholars and educationists. Despite being short on resources, they managed to run a number of makeshift schools, teaching post-secondary curricula to facilitate uninterrupted education for young people from the Mainland and Hong Kong. The three founding Colleges of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, i.e., New Asia College, Chung Chi College and United College, were conceived during this period.

This zone introduces the historical backgrounds of three founding Colleges and the establishment of CUHK, including:

Colleges' photo albums, video clips of the CUHK inauguration ceremony, interviews of College Deans in 1963, and the development of the University campus are available.

New Asia College

New Asia College started out as the Asia Evening College of Arts and Commerce, founded in 1949 by the eminent scholars Mr Ch'ien Mu, Mr Tang Chun-i and Mr Tchang Pi-kai, etc. Their mission was to preserve traditional Chinese culture and to balance it with western learning so that students might have a thorough knowledge of their cultural heritage and be prepared to cope with the modern world. The early days of the College were tough but the high mission and educational vigour of the New Asia pioneers gradually drew attention from many quarters. It soon received financial support from various channels, such as the Yale-in-China Association. It also received funding from the Asia Foundation and the Harvard-Yenching Institute. Such gifts gave the College a solid foundation that greatly encouraged its growth.

Chung Chi College

Chung Chi College was founded in 1951 by Lee Ying-lin, President of former Lingnan University in Guangzhou, David W. K. Au, Chairman of the Board of former St. John’s University in Shanghai, and Bishop Ronald Owen Hall, Head of the Anglican Church in Hong Kong. It represented the Christian churches’ commitment to the continuous development of higher education in China and thus gained broad support from churches of Britain, North America and the local community, including the United Board for Christian Higher Education in Asia in New York, the Asia Christian Colleges Association in London, and the Trustees of Lingnan University in New York, etc.

At the early stage, the College used borrowed and rented premises, first in the social hall of the St. John’s Cathedral and St. Paul's Co-educational College, and later on at No. 147 Caine Road and in the Bishop Hoare Memorial Building. In 1953, the government granted a land lot in Ma Liu Shui to the College as its permanent campus site, and the College moved to its new campus in the autumn of 1956. Thus Chung Chi College was able to embark on a steady path of development.

United College

United College came into being through the amalgamation of five colleges: Ping Jing College of Accountancy, Wah Kiu, Canton Overseas, Wen Hua and Kwang Hsia. Apart from Ping Jing which was founded in Hong Kong, the other four were private colleges which had moved south either from Guangzhou or its vicinity, bringing with them their students and teachers. These colleges operated in spartan premises in the evenings, relying precariously on their alumni in Hong Kong for funding. In early 1956, when Professor G. Kirk, President of Columbia University and director of the Asia Foundation, visited Hong Kong and learnt of the hardship of these colleges, he suggested amalgamation. Subsequently the five colleges announced in June the same year that they would join together to form the ‘United College of Hong Kong’. United College continued to receive financial support from the Asia Foundation and the Mencius Foundation. Later, the Government made available premises on Bonham Road to serve as its campus. Within a few years, it had developed into a well-established post-secondary college.

The Road to the Establishment of the Chinese University

In 1957, New Asia, Chung Chi and United formed “the Chinese Colleges Joint Council”, with Dr F.I. Tseung as its Chairman. Its aim was to strive for degree-awarding status for the three colleges, and this laid the foundation for further collaboration among the three. In 1958, the Government accepted the proposal, after lengthy deliberation, to establish a Chinese university, and in the following year, officially announced its subvention to the three colleges, which were to be the foundation colleges of the new university.

In 1960, John Fulton, who was the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Sussex at the time, was invited to come to Hong Kong as a consultant on the project. In his Report on the Development of Post-Secondary Colleges in Hong Kong, he emphasized the importance of academic freedom and research, and endorsed the new university’s use of Chinese as the medium of instruction as well as its role as a bridge for cultural exchange. Fulton visited again in 1962, and chaired a committee comprising international academics to examine the standard of the three colleges and lay down the structure of the new university. In 1963, the Report of the Fulton Commission published by the committee clearly proposed a federal type of governance for the amalgamated colleges, which served as the blueprint and basis of the founding of the Chinese University.

The Founding of The Chinese University of Hong Kong

When the Report of the Fulton Commission was released, the Hong Kong Government appointed 20 persons to the Provisional Council of the University, with the Honorable Sir Cho-yiu Kwan, a member of the Executive and Legislative Councils, as Chairman. The new university was named 'The Chinese University of Hong Kong', and Dr Choh-ming Li, a scholar with both Chinese and western academic backgrounds well connected with various sectors of society, was appointed Vice-Chancellor. The Provisional Council also deliberated on the site for the new campus, and the regulations for the governance of the new university. On 15 September 1963, the Legislative Council passed 'The Chinese University of Hong Kong Ordinance'. Then on 17 October the same year, Sir Robert Black, the Governor of Hong Kong and Chancellor of the University, presided over its inauguration congregation at the Hong Kong City Hall. So, from college to university, a 15-year journey fraught with hardships finally reached its end, and the Chinese language and Chinese culture finally achieved official recognition in Hong Kong.

Exhibits

Graduation Certificate of Professor Yu Ying-shih (1952) The satin (1963) Seal of the Vice-Chancellor (1964) Coat of arms (1967) ‘Asian Hero’ Award from the Time Magazine (2003) Naming Certificate of Asteroid 'Kaokuen' (1996) Naming Certificate of Asteroid 'Kaokuen' (1996) A letter from Ch'ien Mu to Tang Chun-i (1960) Student exchange programme signed up with UC (1965)

News

Information

Opening Hours

Opening Hours

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday: 10am – 5pm

Wednesday: 12nn – 5pm

Sunday: 2pm – 5pm

(Closed on Public Holidays)

1949年,中國政治發生巨變,由於大批難民湧入,香港人口暴漲,這變化連帶令本港對中文授課教育的需求激增,對香港高等教育構成沉重壓力;另一方面,亦為香港帶來了大批出色的內地學者和教育家。他們在資源匱乏的情況下開辦不少「難民學校」,講授專上程度的課程,協助南來及本地青年繼續學業。其後中文大學的三所成員書院-新亞書院、崇基學院、聯合書院-就是在這一時期孕育出來的。

本展區介紹三所成員書院成立背景及中大成立過程。內容包括:

展區另有書院電子相簿,投影屏幕播放1963年中大成立典禮及當時書院院長訪問的珍貴片段,更有影片《從荒山到大學城》,介紹中大校園的發展。

新亞書院

新亞書院的前身是亞洲文商專科夜校,由錢穆、唐君毅、張丕介等著名學者於1949年創辦,以保存和發揚中國傳統的人文精神及溝通東西文化為教育宗旨。書院早年艱苦經營,後來書院的教育理想漸獲得社會廣大的同情與贊助,其中贊助最有力的是美國雅禮協會,還有美國亞洲協會和哈佛燕京學社等等,使書院奠立穩健基礎。

崇基學院

崇基學院由前廣州嶺南大學校長李應林、前上海聖約翰大學校董會主席歐偉國及香港聖公會領袖何明華會督於1951 年創辦,代表基督教在華發展高等教育傳統的延續,因而廣獲英、美、加及本地教會支持,得以順利開辦;支持之主要組織包括紐約之「亞洲基督教高等教育聯合董事會」、倫敦之「亞洲基督教大學聯合會」及紐約之「嶺南大學基金委員會」等。

學院初期借用聖約翰大禮拜堂副堂及聖保羅男女中學課室為校舍,其後則租用港島堅道147號樓房及借用聖公會霍約瑟紀念堂為校址;1953年獲港府撥贈馬料水土地作永久校址,並於1956年秋遷入新校園,繼而踏上穩步發展的道路。

聯合書院

聯合書院由平正、華僑、廣僑、文化及光夏五所書院組成,除了平正在香港創辦之外,其餘四所書院本是從廣州或鄰近地區南遷來港的私立學府,而且都帶來一批原校教師和學生。各書院只能租用簡陋校舍,在夜間上課,經濟依靠在港校友的捐助勉力撐持,常見拮据。1956年初,美國哥倫比亞大學校長兼亞洲協會董事柯克教授訪港,得知書院困境,建議把各院校力量集合起來。五所書院遂於同年6月宣佈組成「香港聯合書院」,陸續獲得亞洲協會和孟氏基金會的經濟支持,及後又獲政府借出般含道校址。書院成立數年間,已發展成一所具規模的專上學院。

爭取成立中文大學

1957年,新亞、崇基、聯合成立「香港中文專上學校協會」,由蔣法賢擔任主席,爭取政府承認三院頒授學位的資格,為進一步合作奠下基礎。港府終於1958年接納香港設立一中文大學的建議,繼於1959年正式宣佈資助三所書院,並以它們為新大學的基礎書院。

1960年委派薩塞克斯大學創校校長富爾敦爵士以顧問身分來港考察,隨後提交《香港專上學院發展報告書》,強調學術自由和研究工作的重要性,並且肯定新大學以中文為授課語言,以及其作為文化橋樑的角色。1962年中,富爾敦再次來港,主持一國際學者組成的委員會,審定三院的水準,定下新大學的組織架構。1963年委員會發表的《富爾敦報告書》,明確提出以邦聯制作為三院組成大學的模式,成為中文大學成立的藍圖和依據。

香港中文大學成立

《富爾敦報告書》發表後,港府委任二十人組成臨時校董會,由行政、立法兩局議員關祖堯擔任主席,確定新大學命名為「香港中文大學」,聘任兼具中西學術背景、與社會各界關係良好的李卓敏博士為校長,又討論新大學的法例、校址等項目。1963年9月15日,立法局通過《香港中文大學條例》。1963年10月17日,大學監督港督柏立基在香港大會堂主持大學成立典禮。至此,從書院到大學這一長達十五年的艱苦歷程終告完成,中文和中國文化也終於在香港獲得明確地位。

展品

新亞書院余英時教授畢業證書 (1952) 三院教職員慶祝中文大學成立並歡迎校長李卓敏博士大會嘉賓題名錦緞 (1963.11.7) 中文大學校長鈐章 (1964) 中文大學紋章 (1967) 《時代》雜誌「亞洲英雄」獎項 (2003) 高錕星命名證書 (1996) 楊振寧教授 - 諾貝爾物理學獎 (1957) 錢穆致唐君毅信函 (1960s) 加州大學學生交流協議 (1965)

最新消息

開放時間

開放時間

星期一至五:上午十時至下午五時

網上預約


星期六:上午十二時半至下午五時

網上預約


星期日及公眾假期:休館