Virtual Tour

Since its earliest days, CUHK has committed itself as much to teaching and academic research as to upholding the humanistic spirit. This zone shows:

Videos of CUHK's Colleges, Faculties, and social services are available.

Our Colleges

The half-century history of CHUK began when the three Colleges of Chung Chi, New Asia and United amalgamated in 1963. Shaw College was established in 1986. This was followed by Morningside College and S.H. Ho College in 2006, and C.W. Chu College, Wu Yee Sun College and Lee Woo Sing College in 2007. In 2012, there are nine Colleges on the campus of CUHK.

CUHK is the only university in Hong Kong that operates on a college system. Every undergraduate student of CUHK belongs to one College or another. Each College is distinctive, but together they shape the character of the University. Colleges are where students are offered exciting options in terms of activities and learning opportunities with which to enrich their university life, including overseas exchange, student visitor programmes, seminars, mentorship and community service programmes, and training in languages, IT and leadership training, as well as extracurricular activities organized by the college student unions, clubs and societies. The plethora of non-formal learning opportunities offered by the Colleges complement the formal curricula, nurture students' interpersonal skills and cultural sensitivity, and build up their confidence and sense of social responsibility.

A Comprehensive Curriculum

Our Faculties

Our academic departments are housed in eight Faculties which place their emphasis on effective teaching, and there exists a vibrant research culture within closely-knit communities of scholars. Together with the Graduate School, the eight Faculties offer undergraduate and postgraduate programmes leading to bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees in a variety of disciplines.

Bilingualism

The bilingual policy of liangwen sanyu (“two written languages and three spoken ones”) has been implemented at CUHK for five decades. Students are encouraged to use liangwen sanyu for learning, academic exchange, and interacting with teachers and peers. The bilingual policy of the University aims to improve students’ performance in learning. It also aims to prepare them for life-long learning, employment and social participation. Improvement in bilingual proficiency can help students achieve better self-understanding, broaden their view of the world, deepen their concern for international affairs, and increase their appreciation of cultural diversity. Bilingual education is indispensable for preparing students, culturally and linguistically, for living and working in the globalized world today.

Four-year curriculum

In 2012, CUHK reverted to a four-year undergraduate programme. From then on the University has built upon its traditions and developed a new curriculum fit for the times, and furthered students’ opportunities for internship and service to prepare them for the challenges of the future.

General education

CUHK provides more than 200 elective courses, the contents of which stress their relevance to contemporary issues. Seminars, retreats, study groups and general education salons are also organized to provide students with opportunities to interact with each other and exchange views. College General Education is a unique feature of undergraduate education at CUHK, designed as an expression of the unique mission, traditions, and resources of each College.

A Spirit of Service and Benevolence

It is our belief that service is an effective tool to provide education as well as helping those in need. Education exists within or beyond our campus: while knowledge is acquired on campus, students also learn through serving the society outside campus. This is how CUHK inculcates in its students humanistic knowledge and social concern.

Teachers and students of CUHK are always committed to serving the community and seeking ways and means to meet the needs of the underprivileged. A wide range of social service projects are mounted by the University's Colleges, Faculties and departments every year for teachers and students to pay back to the community with their professional knowledge, skills and concern. In 2011, the University launched the ICARE Programme to enhance its support to students in relation to their participation in social services.

Video

Exhibits

Graduation Certificate of Professor Yu Ying-shih (1952) The satin (1963) Seal of the Vice-Chancellor (1964) Coat of arms (1967) ‘Asian Hero’ Award from the Time Magazine (2003) Naming Certificate of Asteroid 'Kaokuen' (1996) Naming Certificate of Asteroid 'Kaokuen' (1996) A letter from Ch'ien Mu to Tang Chun-i (1960) Student exchange programme signed up with UC (1965)

News

Information

Opening Hours

Opening Hours

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday: 10am – 5pm

Wednesday: 12nn – 5pm

Sunday: 2pm – 5pm

(Closed on Public Holidays)

中大自創校以來,不但致力於教育與研究,還悉心傳承和弘揚人文精神。本展區內容包括:

另有屏幕播放書院、學院、及中大社會服務介紹片段。

我們的書院

中大歷史始於1963年崇基、新亞、聯合三所書院合併,隨後逸夫書院於1986年成立,晨興書院、善衡書院於2006年創立,繼有敬文書院、伍宜孫書院和和聲書院於2007年創立,到了2012年,中大校園共有九所書院。

中大是全港唯一實行書院制的大學。所有中大全日制本科生都可選擇一所書院,成為該院的一分子。書院各有獨特文化,但匯聚在一起,卻又塑造了中文大學的精神面貌。書院舉辦各種活動,包括海外交流及外訪計劃、研討會、師友計劃、社區服務、語文、資訊科技和領袖才能訓練,這些非形式教育機會,與正規課程相輔相成,培養學生的人際關係技巧、文化品味、自信心和責任感。書院還有多種學生社團組織的課外活動,讓學生為自己的大學生活添上色彩。

課程全面 培育通才

我們的學院

中大的學系分設於八所學院,學院內濟濟多士,既注重傳授知識,又帶動熾熱投入的研究風氣。八所學院連同研究院合共提供多個本科課程和研究課程,學科類別豐富,畢業生可按所修課程取得學士、碩士或博士學位。

雙語並重

中大五十年來一直堅持中英雙語(兩文三語)的教育方針,鼓勵學生以兩文三語作為學習、學術交流以及師生溝通的媒介,以培養他們終身學習、就業和社會參與的能力。提高雙語的能力有助學生增加對自己的認識,拓寬他們的國際視野,讓他們更關心世界事務,認識世界文化的多元性,為他們在今日全球化的社會中生活和工作,打下必須具有的文化和語言基礎。

四年制課程

2012年,中大回歸創校早年沿用多時的四年制。校方參考過往多年的寶貴經驗,並結合時代需要,設計了耳目一新的課程,增加學生實習與服務的機會,培育應付挑戰的能力。

通識教育

中大提供二百多個通識選修科目,內容與現代社會息息相關。課堂以外,大學舉辦學術會議、退修活動、讀書會、通識沙龍等活動,為學生提供砥礪學問,交流思想的環境。另外書院亦提供多元化的通識課程及學習機會。

服務社會 行善四方

服務既能助人,也能育人。校園內的教學,可以傳授知識;校園外人間世的服務,能夠促進知識的應用,有助大學培養出既有才識,又具人文氣質和關懷社會的學生。

中大師生五十年來關懷弱勢社群,重視服務社會,每年各書院、學院、學系都開展形形色色的社會服務項目,令師生可以運用專業知識和愛心回饋社會。2011年,中大更推出ICARE博群計劃,加強支援學生參與各種社會及公民服務項目。

錄像

展品

新亞書院余英時教授畢業證書 (1952) 三院教職員慶祝中文大學成立並歡迎校長李卓敏博士大會嘉賓題名錦緞 (1963.11.7) 中文大學校長鈐章 (1964) 中文大學紋章 (1967) 《時代》雜誌「亞洲英雄」獎項 (2003) 高錕星命名證書 (1996) 楊振寧教授 - 諾貝爾物理學獎 (1957) 錢穆致唐君毅信函 (1960s) 加州大學學生交流協議 (1965)

最新消息

開放時間

開放時間

星期一至五:上午十時至下午五時

網上預約


星期六:上午十二時半至下午五時

網上預約


星期日及公眾假期:休館